

For Immediate Release

## News Release

8820 Silver Hill Drive, Oklahoma City, OK 73132 (405) 608-4350 • fax: (405) 848-0372 www.okwheat.org
E-mail: mschulte@okwheat.org

**Contact:** Mike Schulte, Executive Director

November 30, 2023 (405) 608-4350

<u>Destry Swaim of Okeene FFA Named Grand Champion at the 2023</u> Oklahoma 4-H/FFA Junior Wheat Show – Clinton Chaney named 4-H Champion

Oklahoma City, OK – Destry Swaim, son of Brandon and Robin Swaim, was awarded the overall grand champion award showing his Doublestop CL Plus variety in the 2023 Oklahoma 4-H/FFA Junior Wheat Show. Swaim placed 9th in production and milling and 1<sup>st</sup> in baking, earning him the title of 1<sup>st</sup> place as the FFA champion, and overall grand champion of the 4-H/FFA Junior Wheat Show. Swaim is from the Okeene FFA chapter.

Clinton Chaney, son of Scott and Jennifer Chaney, was awarded 1<sup>st</sup> place and 4-H champion showing his WB4515 variety in the 2023 Oklahoma 4-H/FFA Junior Wheat Show. Chaney placed 3<sup>rd</sup> in production and milling and 2nd in baking, earning him the champion 4-H award. Chaney is a member of the Medford 4-H Club in Grant County.

Swaim, a member of the Okeene FFA Chapter, received \$3000 in scholarship monies for the 1<sup>st</sup> place and Champion win. Destry also won \$750 premium from Oklahoma Genetics Inc (OGI) for winning 1<sup>st</sup> place and then Grand Champion overall in the competition with the Doublestop CL Plus variety. Destry also received a \$500 premium for being FFA champion and grand champion from WestBred® and received an additional \$350 premium for 1<sup>st</sup> place and Grand Champion from the Oklahoma Wheat Research Foundation, along with a \$35.00 premium for production, milling, bake contest and trophies.

Chaney, a member of the Medford 4-H Club in Grant County, received \$3000 in scholarship monies for his accomplishments with his WB4515 variety. Clinton also won a \$500 premium from WestBred® for winning 1<sup>st</sup> place and 4-H Champion with the WB4515 variety. In addition, he received \$100 premium for 1<sup>st</sup> place from the Oklahoma Wheat Research Foundation, along with a \$40.00 premium for production, milling, bake contest and trophies.



<u>Photo caption:</u> Alec Anderson, Oklahoma NW District FFA Vice President; David Gammill, Chairman, Oklahoma Wheat Commission; Terry Detrick, Oklahoma Wheat Research Foundation; grandfather Ted Swaim; parents Brandon and Robin Swaim; Karl Riffel, Okeene FFA Advisor and Jan Lee Rowlett, Deputy Commissioner of Agriculture, Oklahoma Department of Agriculture Food and Forestry presents Destry Swaim his 1<sup>st</sup> place/Champion and Grand Champion awards for the 2023 State 4-H/FFA Junior Wheat Show. Photo Credit: Dustin Mielke, Oklahoma Farm Bureau.



<u>Photo caption:</u> David Gammill, Chairman, Oklahoma Wheat Commission; Terry Detrick, Oklahoma Wheat Research Foundation; Cheyenne Gaff, Agricultural and 4-H Educator of Grant County, parents Jennifer and Scott Chaney and JanLee Rowlett, Deputy Commissioner of Agriculture, Oklahoma Department of Agriculture Food and Forestry present Clinton Chaney his 1<sup>st</sup> place and Champion 4-H award for the 2023 State 4-H/FFA Junior Wheat Show. Photo Credit: Dustin Mielke, Oklahoma Farm Bureau.

Other placements are for FFA and 4-H winners are listed on the next page.

## FFA Junior Wheat Show winners were:

```
1st place and Grand Champion-Destry Swaim - Okeene FFA - Doublestop CL Plus
2<sup>nd</sup> place – Davin Budy – Cherokee FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
3<sup>rd</sup> place – Griffin Payne – Thomas-Fay-Custer FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
4<sup>th</sup> place – Carson Payne – Thomas-Fay-Custer FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
5<sup>th</sup> place – Tanner Otto – Ponca City FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
6<sup>th</sup> place – Taylor Otto – Ponca City FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
7<sup>th</sup> place – Saidee Wright – Lomega FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
8th place – Erin Smith – Hydro-Eakly FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
9<sup>th</sup> place – Brax Meacham -Hydro-Eakly FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
10<sup>th</sup> place – Ashley Purvine – Thomas-Fay-Custer FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
11<sup>th</sup> place – Tyler Sawyer - Okeene FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
12th place – Rebecca Purvine – Thomas-Fay-Custer FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
13th place – Griffin Payne – Thomas-Fay-Custer FFA – LCS Atomic AX
14<sup>th</sup> place – Brayson Roberts – Okeene FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
15<sup>th</sup> place – Davin Budy – Cherokee FFA – Green Hammer
16<sup>th</sup> place – Bryer Roberts – Okeene FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
17<sup>th</sup> place – Preston Boeckman – Okeene FFA – Showdown
18th place – Creden Woods – Hydro-Eakly – Smith's Gold
19th place – Preston Boeckman - Okeene FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
20<sup>th</sup> place – Marlee Pecha – Timberlake FFA – Strad CL Plus
21st place – Grant Robison - Okeene FFA – Showdown
22<sup>nd</sup> place – Charles Miller – Thomas-Fay-Custer FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
23<sup>rd</sup> place – Alex Laubach - Okeene FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
24<sup>th</sup> place – Carson Payne – Thomas-Fay-Custer – Big Country
25<sup>th</sup> place – Grant Robison – Okeene FFA – Doublestop CL Plus
```

## 4-H Junior Wheat Show winners were:

```
1st place & 4-H Champion – Clinton Chaney - Medford 4-H – WB4515
2<sup>nd</sup> place – Jayce Schultz – Okeene 4-H – Doublestop CL Plus
3<sup>rd</sup> place – Logan Chance – Okeene 4-H – Doublestop CL Plus
4<sup>th</sup> place – Ty Otto – K-Pals 4-H Club Ponca City – Doublestop CL Plus
5<sup>th</sup> place – Mia Forman – Lomega 4-H – Doublestop CL Plus
6<sup>th</sup> place – Bryson Sawyer – Okeene 4-H – Doublestop CL Plus
7<sup>th</sup> place – Logan Chance – Okeene 4-H – Green Hammer
8<sup>th</sup> place – Kinley Brown - Newkirk 4-H – Doublestop CL Plus
9th place – Taylor Robison – Okeene 4-H – Showdown
10<sup>th</sup> place – Jayce Schultz – Okeene 4-H – Endurance
11th place – Danny Miller – Thomas-Fay-Custer 4-H – Doublestop CL Plus
12<sup>th</sup> place – Baylea Robison – Okeene 4-H – Showdown
13th place – Emery Fisher - Okeene 4-H – OK Corral
14<sup>th</sup> place – Audrey Kauk – Arapho-Butler 4-H – Winterhawk
15<sup>th</sup> place – Baylea Robison – Okeene 4-H – Doublestop CL Plus
16<sup>th</sup> place – Taylor Robison – Okeene 4-H – Doublestop CL Plus
17<sup>th</sup> place – Breck Failes – Cherokee 4-H – Showdown
18th place – Clinton Chaney – Medford 4-H – WB4699
19<sup>th</sup> place – Kyan Herrmann - Agra 4-H – WB4699
20<sup>th</sup> place – Kinley Brown – Newkirk 4-H – WB 4699
21st place – Sophia Roush – Arapaho 4-H – Smith's Gold
```

The Oklahoma Wheat Commission works to promote greater utilization of wheat in both domestic and international markets through research, market development, and public education. Five wheat producers representing designated districts across the state serve as the Oklahoma Wheat Commission's board of directors. Current officers are David Gammill, Chairman, Chattanooga; Don Schieber, Vice-Chairman, Ponca City; R.J. Parrish, Secretary/Treasurer, Hunter; Jerry Wiebe, board member District 2, Hooker and Michael Peters, board member District 3, Okarche.